These white-walled storehouses along the Tamagawa River retain the ambience of their origins in the Edo and Meiji periods. The area has been designated one of the most important traditional architectures preservation districts in the country. The stone bridge spanning the Tamagawa and the red tiles contrasting with the white mortar of these buildings creates a lovely townscape. The buildings, formerly used as breweries and soy sauce distilleries, now house a variety of local goods shops, tea shops, and galleries, making it a great place for an idle stroll through some old-time elegance.
Vicinity of Shinmachi 1-chome, Higashinaka-machi, Uo-machi, and Togiya-machi, Kurayoshi City
|TEL||0858-22-1200 (Kurayoshi White Wall District Tourism Bureau)|
|Access||40 min. by car from Yonago Expwy Yubara IC, Hiruzen IC. 12 min. by bus (local line bound for Kurayoshi Nishi) from Kurayoshi Station. 5 min. walk from Akagawara/White Wall district.|